top of page
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Learn About

the History

of Deeds

The Nashville Davidson County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining all of the land records. The Register of Deeds is an office established by the State Constitution as the official record keeper of legal documents pertaining to real property. These documents include Warranty Deeds, Deeds of Trust, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Liens and other miscellaneous documents designated by State Law to be recorded by the Register of Deeds. The Register is elected by the people and serves a four year term.  


Davidson County, Tennessee


Mr. B.F. Binkley                   1871-1878

Mr. Robert S. Patterson     1879-1879

Mr. James Everett               1880-1880

Mr. R.W. Branch                  1881-1886

Mr. C.B. Harwood                1887-1890

Mr. W.E. Chadwell               1891-1894

Mr. J.B. Armstrong              1895-1898

Mr. James Goodloe            1899-1902

Mr. Ben F. Loftin                  1903-1903

Mr. G.W. Phillips                  1904-1904

Dr. William Morrow             1905-1906

Mr. W.H. Morton                 1907-1918

Mr. Julian Underwood        1920-1922

Mr. West H. Morton            1924-1926

Mr. Ernest H. Parker            1927-1927

Mr. W.H. Morton                  1928-1930

Mr. Ernest H. Parker            1931-1943

Mr. W.T. (Bill) Jones              1944-1946

Mr. Felix Z. Wilson               1947-1949

Mr. James P. Wilson             1950-1962

Mr. Felix Z. Wilson               1963-1998

Mr. William (Bill) Garrett      1998 - 2018

Mrs. Karen Johnson             2018 - Present

bottom of page